Ahead of this year's ceremony, AIM announces Dan Carey and Soulwax as winners of the Innovator and Outstanding Contribution to Music Awards.

With this year’s AIM Awards just around the corner, the Association of Independent Music has announced two new honourees for the night. 


Music legends Soulwax will be taking home the ‘Outstanding Contribution to Music Award in association with Merlin’, recognising their boundary-pushing impact on the industry over the past decades. First formed by brothers David and Stephen Dewaele in the mid-90s, the innovative duo have evolved to encompass a variety of creative pursuits: from their presence as a band to performing as DJs under moniker 2manydjs, as well as record label DEEWEE and sound system Despacio (a joint venture with LCD Soundsystem’s James Murphy). 

Equally legendary is four-time Grammy-nominated Dan Carey – producer, co-founder of Speedy Wunderground and this year’s winner of the ‘Innovator Award in association with Amazon Music’. Responsible for both some of our generation’s biggest hits and biggest breakout tracks, he’s collaborated with the likes of Kylie Minogue and Kae Tempest to Fontaines DC and Squid. Having shown continued dedication to independent music and artists, Dan in many ways embodies all the AIM Awards is about.

With the night weeks away, AIM have got us excited with additions to the nominee list: the ‘Independent Champion in association with Downtown’ contenders see BBC Radio 1 DJ and broadcaster Jaguar Bingham nominated alongside Brighton independent record shop Resident Music and performance venue for creative new music, Cafe OTO.


And then there’s the performers. With additional surprises to be announced on the night, so far we can look forward to sets from the likes of grime and drum & bass-blending duo P Money & Whiney, as well as British-Lebanese rapper/producer Laughta.


With the 50th anniversary of hip-hop passing this year, the ceremony will also include a celebratory dedication to the genre – and particularly its enduring influence in the UK’s independent hip-hop community – supported by BBC 1Xtra.

Related Articles

Esta Rae Isn’t Letting Anyone In Her Way

Fresh from becoming a Women in Music Role of Honour 2023 inductee, Esta Rae talks about defying the odds, her passion for independent artists and more.

AIM Awards 2023: Red Carpet

Find out what went down on the red carpet of this year’s AIM Awards, featuring Ezra Collective, ENNY and more.

Avelino, Ezra Collective and Shygirl Win Big at 2023’s AIM Awards

After an electrifying night celebrating the best of the industry, find out the winners from this year’s Independent Music Awards.