With their annual awards ceremony just around the corner, The Association of Independent Music knows that no one does it like Björk...

As we await the night celebrating UK’s independent music scene, the AIM Awards have already crowned the one and only Björk as ‘Best Live Performer’. Voted for by the public, the iconic Icelandic artist’s decade-spanning career has been honoured ahead of the Association of Independent Music’s yearly award show on 26th September this year.  


Beating the likes of MUNA, Beabadoobee, and Japan’s BABYMETAL, Björk and her Cornucopia tour are undoubtedly deserving of the award: a high-production theatrical performance which has been ongoing since 2019 and now includes music from her Grammy-nominated album Fossora. Coined “an electrifying pop concert, art installation and opening ceremony rolled into one” by the Guardian earlier this year, it seems watching Björk perform is as unmissable an experience as ever. 

Taking place for the 24th year running, the AIM Awards 2023 are always one of the most exciting nights of the year for the UK’s music industry, the ceremony will pay tribute to some of the best independent artists of 2023 and beyond. Revealing the final nominees, this diverse edition shortlists the likes of innovative British rapper AntsLive, vibrant DJ John Summit, hip-hop and house rising star Surya Sen, drum & bass producer Vibe Chemistry and everyone’s favourite indie-rock duo Wet Leg. 


Also celebrating those behind the scenes in the music industry, this year the AIM Awards has named Dr Charisse Beaumont, CEO of Black Lives in Music (BLiM), ‘Diversity Champion’ in recognition of her “groundbreaking work at the forefront of creating an inclusive music industry, such as the rollout of BLiM’s voluntary Music Industry Anti-Racism Code.”  

AIM has given nods to various independent labels – Defected Records, Forever Living Originals, Hospital Records, One Little Independent and Transgressive – as well as boutique labels, music entrepreneurs, campaign creators and various other talented industry members who aren’t always put into the spotlight, but make the music world go round. 


“The AIM Independent Music Awards are a night to celebrate the best of the UK’s independent music community”, Silvia Montello, CEO at AIM explains “and to showcase its triumphs and innovations. We are proud to be able to honour the diversity and talent across the UK ‘s independent labels, artists, entrepreneurs and champions and it’s fantastic to see continued public recognition of Björk’s trailblazing live shows!” 


The AIM Awards 2023 return to Camden’s Roundhouse on 26th September 2023, click here for more information and see the full list of nominees below now. 


Newly announced winners and nominees: 


Diversity Champion 

Charisse Beaumont – Black Lives in Music 


Best Live Performance 

Björk  (One Little Independent) 


PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist 

AntsLive (Payday Records, Trademark Records) 

John Summit (Off The Grid Records) 

Surya Sen (Skint Records) 

Vibe Chemistry (DnB Allstars Records) 

Wet Leg (Domino Records) 


Music Entrepreneur of the Year 

Alex Brees – Un:hurd 

Caius Pawson – Young / Space 

Jess Kangalee – Good Energy PR 

Keturah Cummings – Forward Slash 

Yasin El Ashrafi – HQ Familia 


Best Boutique Label 

Chess Club 

Glasgow Underground 


Rough Bones 

So Young Records 


Best Independent Label 

Defected Records 

Forever Living Originals 

Hospital Records 

One Little Independent 



Best Creative Campaign 

Because Music (Shygirl – ‘Nymph’) 

Dirty Hit (Rina Sawayama – ‘Hold The Girl’) 

Human Re Sources (RAYE – ‘My 21st Century Blues’) 

Ninja Tune (Young Fathers – ‘Heavy Heavy’) 

Partisan Records (Ezra Collective – ‘Where I’m Meant To Be’) 

XL Recordings (Yaeji – ‘With A Hammer’) 



Previously announced nominees: 


UK Independent Breakthrough 

Ezra Collective (Partisan Records) 

I.Jordan (Ninja Tune) 

Overmono (XL Recordings) 

Shygirl (Because Music) 

Suki Waterhouse (Sub Pop) 


Best Independent Track (Meta) 

Connie Constance – ‘Hurt You’ (Play It Again Sam) 

ENNY – Charge It (FAMM) 

Four Tet – ‘Three Drums’ (Text Records) 

Makaya McCraven – ‘Dream Another’ (XL Recordings) 

Overmono – ‘Good Lies’ (XL Recordings) 

RAYE, 070 Shake – ‘Escapism’ (Human Re Sources)  

Shygirl – ‘Shlut’ (Because Music)  

Sudan Archives – ‘Selfish Soul’ (Stones Throw Records) 

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – ‘Spitting Off The Edge of The World’ feat. Perfume Genius (Secretly Canadian) 

Yves Tumor – ‘Echolalia’ (Warp Records) 


Best Independent EP/ Mixtape  

Bellah – ‘Adultsville’ (Base ‘N’ Rebulz X Marathon Music Group) 

ENNY – ‘We Go Again’ (FAMM) 

Jessica Winter – ‘Limerance’ (Lucky Number) 

Saint Joshua – ‘EP2’(Ditto Music) 

yunè pinku – ‘BABYLON IX’ (PLATOON) 


Best Independent Album  

Avelino – God Save The Streets (More Music Records/ OddChild Music) 

Kelela – Raven (Warp Records) 

Little Simz – No Thank You (Forever Living Originals) 

Nova Twins – Supernova (Marshall Records) 

Obongjayar – Some Nights I Dream of Doors (September Recordings) 

Oliver Sim – Hideous Bastard (Young) 

RAYE – My 21st Century Blues (Human Re Sources) 

Rina Sawayama – Hold The Girl (Dirty Hit) 

Shygirl – Nymph (Because Music) 

Wu-Lu – LOGGERHEAD (Warp Records)  


Best Independent Remix  

Sega Bodega Remix (One Little Independent) – Björk – ‘Ovuke (feat. Shygirl)’ 

Soulwax Remix (Deewee / Because Music) – Charlotte Adigéry & Bolis Pupul – ‘Cliche’ 

Nu:Tone Remix (Hospital Records) – GLXY – ‘Butterfly Effect (feat. Hugh Hardie & Visionobi)’ 

Jamie XX remix (Young) – Oliver Sim – ‘GMT’ 

Boys Noize (Secretly Canadian) – Yeah Yeah Yeahs – ‘Wolf’ 


One To Watch (BBC Music Introducing) 

Jessica Winter (Lucky Number) 

Juice Menace (Supernature) 


Laughta (MDLBEAST) 

Master Peace (PMR) 


Best Independent Video (Vevo) 

Ezra Collective – ‘No Confusion ft. Kojey Radical’ (Partisan Records) 

Kelela – ‘Enough For Love’ (Warp Records) 

Obongjayar – ‘I Wish It Was Me (Live)’ (September Recordings) 

RAYE, 070 Shake – ‘Escapism.’ (Human Re Sources) 

Wesley Joseph – ‘MONSOON’ (EEVILTWINN) 

Related Articles

Unravelling The Threads of Björk’s Cultural Impact

As we revel in the release of her latest track ‘Oral’ with Rosalía, we explore the ethereal brilliance of Björk, and delve into the indelible mark she is leaving on our cultural canvas.

Esta Rae Isn’t Letting Anyone In Her Way

Fresh from becoming a Women in Music Role of Honour 2023 inductee, Esta Rae talks about defying the odds, her passion for independent artists and more.

AIM Awards 2023: Red Carpet

Find out what went down on the red carpet of this year’s AIM Awards, featuring Ezra Collective, ENNY and more.